THE ANCIENT VILLA

The site, located in the Gabas valley in the town of Lalonquette, is known under the name of "Arribèra deus Gleisiras" , a toponym of Gascon origin which would mean "the valley of estates belonging to the Church" or " the goods of the valley given to the Church ".

 

It was reported  officially for the first time in the  Pyrenees Memorial  September 13, 1843. His  story  makes him one of the witnesses of the  dense establishment of large ancient residences in the south of Aquitaine.

DSC_1729.JPG
ss_laljour__0018_calque-2-504x400.jpg

A SAFEGUARDED & ENHANCED SITE

The year 2018 marked the end of a vast program of conservation and enhancement of archaeological remains.

At the end of three years of work which will have made it possible to preserve the site and to identify the exact contours of this ancient aristocratic residence, the villa is now revealed to the public thanks to a contemporary reading rich in information.

 

500 YEARS OF HISTORY REVEALED

OCCUPATION OF THE SITE

The  Villa  was occupied for more than five  centuries, from the beginning of our era to the fifth century AD. J.-C.

The extent of the remains discovered, corresponding  essentially to the party  residential of the whole  ( pars urbana ),  testifies to the existence of an important establishment whose total area, according to the latest archaeological work, probably approached 2 hectares.

 

HISTORY OF EXCAVATIONS

An important extensive excavation was carried out between 1959 and 1972 by Jean LAUFFRAY, Architect of the Buildings of France for the Pyrénées Atlantiques and the Landes. 

It was not until 2002 that the research work on the villa was taken over by François RECHIN and Laurent CALLEGARIN  for the University of Pau and the Pays de l'Adour, until 2005. It will mainly be a building study campaign.

 

Img0311.JPG
vlcsnap-2014-10-24-10h13m57s210.jpg

LA VILLA ANTIQUE

Le site, implanté dans la vallée du Gabas sur la commune de Lalonquette, est connu sous le nom de l'"Arribèra deus Gleisiras", toponyme d'origine gasconne qui signifierait "la vallée des domaines appartenant à l'Eglise" ou bien "les biens de la vallée donnés à l'Eglise".

 

Il fut signalé officiellement pour la première fois dans le Mémorial des Pyrénées le 13 septembre 1843. Son histoire fait de lui un des témoins de la dense implantation de grandes demeures antiques dans le sud de l'Aquitaine.

ss_laljour__0018_calque-2-504x400.jpg

UN SITE SAUVEGARDÉ & VALORISÉ

L'année 2018 a marqué la fin d'un vaste programme de conservation et de valorisation des vestiges archéologiques.

Au terme de trois années de travaux qui auront permis de préserver le site et de relever les exacts contours de cette demeure aristocratique antique, la villa se révèle désormais au public grâce à une lecture contemporaine et riche d'informations.

 

500 ANS D'HISTOIRE RÉVÉLÉS

OCCUPATION DU SITE

La villa fut occupée pendant plus de cinq siècles, du début de notre ère au Ve siècle ap. J.-C.

L'ampleur des vestiges découverts, correspondant essentiellement à la partie résidentielle de l'ensemble (pars urbana), témoigne de l'existence d'un établissement d'importance dont la superficie totale, d'après les derniers travaux archéologiques, approchait vraisemblablement les 2 hectares.

 

HISTORIQUE DES FOUILLES

Une importante fouille extensive fut réalisée entre 1959 et 1972 par Jean LAUFFRAY, Architecte des Bâtiments de France pour les Pyrénées Atlantiques et les Landes. 

Ce n'est qu'en 2002 que les travaux de recherches sur la villa seront repris par François RECHIN et Laurent CALLEGARIN pour l'Univeristé de Pau et des Pays de l'Adour, et ce jusqu'en 2005. Il s'agira d'une campagne d'étude de bâti principalement.

 

vlcsnap-2014-10-24-10h13m57s210.jpg